Playbuy vs Videowise
Looking for a Videowise alternative? Here's a side-by-side look at how the two apps price and work, based on public Shopify App Store listings.
Last checked November 2026
Summary
About Videowise
Videowise is an established shoppable video platform. Its App Store listing offers a Free plan and a $9/month Pro plan that includes a set number of unique widget impressions, with additional impressions billed as usage.
About Playbuy
Playbuy uses flat plans with hard caps: no usage billing, an email at 80% of your views, and posters instead of extra charges at 100%. It focuses on a fast storefront (~4 KB loader) and holdout-tested attribution.
At a glance
| Topic | Playbuy | Videowise (per App Store listing) |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Flat monthly or annual price, no usage meter | Low base price plus usage-based charges per additional 1,000 impressions |
| Above the plan allowance | Never billed — widgets show posters until the next cycle | Additional impressions billed at $10 per 1,000 (Pro plan) |
| Higher tiers | Self-serve, published: Starter $19, Growth $49, Scale $149 | Full platform via sales, reported $239–$479/mo |
| Published loader size budget | ~4 KB gzipped, budget checked on every build | Not stated on the App Store listing |
| Attribution method | Direct + influenced revenue (7-day window), via Shopify web pixel | Engagement and conversion tracking; method not described on the listing |
| Holdout (no-video control group) | Yes, on Growth and Scale | Not stated on the App Store listing |
Pricing
Videowise plans
| Plan | Price | Includes | Above allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Free plan available | — |
| Pro | $9 / month | 5,000 unique widget impressions | $10 per additional 1,000 (usage-based charge) |
| Full platform | Reported $239–$479 / month | Sold via sales demo; not listed on the App Store | Not publicly listed |
- The App Store listing states that recurring and usage-based charges are billed every 30 days.
- Full-platform pricing is not shown on the App Store listing; the range above is as publicly reported and may differ for your store.
Playbuy plans
| Plan | Price | Includes | Above allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1,000 video views / month | No charge — posters until next cycle |
| Starter | $19 / month | 15,000 video views / month | No charge — posters until next cycle |
| Growth | $49 / month | 75,000 video views / month | No charge — posters until next cycle |
| Scale | $149 / month | 300,000 video views / month | No charge — posters until next cycle |
Billed through Shopify. Annual billing available. Full pricing
Which is right for you?
Playbuy may suit you if…
- You want a predictable bill with no usage charges, even in a traffic spike.
- Storefront speed and Core Web Vitals are a priority.
- You want to measure true lift with a holdout group.
- You want a simple import → tag → go live workflow.
Videowise may suit you if…
- You need features specific to Videowise's platform that Playbuy doesn't offer.
- You prefer usage-based pricing that starts lower and scales with traffic.
- You want a sales-led, full-platform engagement.


