Skip to content

Playbuy vs Tolstoy

Looking for a Tolstoy alternative? Here's a side-by-side look at how the two apps price and work, based on public Shopify App Store listings.

Last checked November 2026

Summary

About Tolstoy

Tolstoy offers shoppable video alongside a growing set of AI features (AI Studio and an AI Sales Agent). Paid plans include a monthly number of viewers plus AI token allowances, with additional viewers billed per 1,000.

About Playbuy

Playbuy uses flat plans with hard caps: no usage billing, an email at 80% of your views, and posters instead of extra charges at 100%. It focuses on a fast storefront (~4 KB loader) and holdout-tested attribution.

At a glance

Playbuy compared with Tolstoy
TopicPlaybuyTolstoy (per App Store listing)
Pricing modelFlat monthly or annual price, no usage meterMonthly plan with viewer allowance plus usage-based charges for extra viewers; AI features metered by tokens
Above the plan allowanceNever billed — widgets show posters until the next cycle$7–$10 per additional 1,000 viewers, depending on plan
Product focusShoppable video and UGC, kept simpleShoppable video plus AI content and AI sales agent features
Published loader size budget~4 KB gzipped, budget checked on every buildNot stated on the App Store listing
Attribution methodDirect + influenced revenue (7-day window), via Shopify web pixelAttributed revenue reporting; method not described on the listing
Holdout (no-video control group)Yes, on Growth and ScaleNot stated on the App Store listing

Pricing

Tolstoy plans

PlanPriceIncludesAbove allowance
Free$0First shoppable experience—
Starter$19 / month5,000 viewers / month + AI token allowances$10 per additional 1,000 viewers
Plus$44 / month20,000 viewers / month + AI token allowances$10 per additional 1,000 viewers
Pro$195 / month100,000 viewers / month + AI token allowances$7 per additional 1,000 viewers
  • Paid plans also include monthly AI Studio and AI Sales Agent token allowances; the Pro plan lists one-time token top-ups.
  • The App Store listing states that recurring and usage-based charges are billed every 30 days. Annual options are also listed.

Playbuy plans

PlanPriceIncludesAbove allowance
Free$01,000 video views / monthNo charge — posters until next cycle
Starter$19 / month15,000 video views / monthNo charge — posters until next cycle
Growth$49 / month75,000 video views / monthNo charge — posters until next cycle
Scale$149 / month300,000 video views / monthNo charge — posters until next cycle

Billed through Shopify. Annual billing available. Full pricing

Which is right for you?

Playbuy may suit you if…

  • You want a predictable bill with no usage charges, even in a traffic spike.
  • Storefront speed and Core Web Vitals are a priority.
  • You want to measure true lift with a holdout group.
  • You want a simple import → tag → go live workflow.

Tolstoy may suit you if…

  • You need features specific to Tolstoy's platform that Playbuy doesn't offer.
  • You prefer usage-based pricing that starts lower and scales with traffic.
  • AI content creation tools are central to your workflow.

Start free. Upgrade when the numbers say so.